Harriers Weekly News

1. Download 2017 race fixtures – start planning your year!
2. We now have a new email address (riversideharriers@gmail.com), please send all running related mails to this address.
3. Registration for 2017 is open (separate mail sent) – for any more information, contact Emile. Please note we prefer eft, not cash.
4. We run / walk Tues, Wed, Thur 17h30 (run / walkers leave 17h20).
5.  Dates to remember:

  • Every Friday, 05h15, Red Sock Friday 3,5 , 8 km run / walk, Durban Country Club beach ;https://www.facebook.com/groups/iwearredsocksonfridaysDurban/
  • Tues 10 Jan : first club run for 2017
  • Wed 11 Jan : first TT for 2017 – run 20 time trials till year end function, earn a t-shirt
  • Wed 1 Feb : first braai for 2017
  • Fri 10 – Sun 12 March, camp at Midmar Dam for Umgeni water 15, 32, 42 km  – names and queries to Emile. Non-campers, get in early and book chalets at 033 – 8451000.
6.  Club runs :
a. These will build up towards Two Oceans and Comrades, to be finalised;
b. There will always be shorter (10 – 15 km) options as well;
c. Use Saturday club runs in conjunction with Sunday races, to get good back to back training!
  • Sat 14 Jan : 05h30 – 15 km
  • Sat 21 Jan : 05h30 – 15 km
  • Sat 28 Jan : 05h30 – 15 km
7. 2017 races (full details in Fixtures list and Eventtiming website) :
  • Sun 8 Jan : Ronnie Davel 16 km, Hilton 
  • Sun 15 Jan : Pumnanthi 10 km, Merebank
  • Sun 22 Jan : Kearsney 10 & 21 km, first leg of the 2017 10 x 10 km Challenge:http://eventtiming.co.za/entryonline.php?id=232http://eventtiming.co.za/flyers/Kearsney_2017.pdf
  • Sun 29 Jan : PDAC 25 km
  • Sun 5 Feb : Sydenham 16 / 32 km
  • Sun 12 Feb : NOSA Hillcrest 21, 42 km; http://www.hillcrestvillagersac.co.za/hillcrestmarathon/index.php
  • Sun 19 Feb : Zabalaza 21 km
  • Sun 26 Feb : Pmb Witness 10, 21, 42 km; http://www.pmb42.co.za/
  • Sat 4 March : Battlefields 10, 21, 42 km – Newcastle
  • Sun 12 March : Umgeni Water 15, 32, 42 km – Midmar dam
  • Sun 12 March : Peace in Africa 10, 21 km – Kingspark
  • Sun 19 March : Stella 10 / 25 km
  • Sun 26 March : Verulam Gaterite 10 / 21 / 42 km
  • Sun 26 March : Tronox 10 / 21 / 42 km – Empangeni
  • Sat 1 April : Bergville 21 / 52 km
  • Sun 2 Apr : Checkout 10 / 21 , Kingspark
  • Sun 9 Apr : Durban City 10 / 21 / 42 km
  • Sun 16 Apr : Dick King 15 km walk / 21 km run
  • Sat 22 Apr : Mondi 10 / 21 km – Richards bay
  • Sun 23 Apr : Chatsworth 10 / 25 / 52 km
  • Sun 30 Apr : Filedshill 10 km, Lahee Park, Pinetown
  • Mon 1 May : Hibiscus 10 / 25  / 50 km
  • Sun 7 May : Deloittes 10 / 21 / 42 km
  • Sun 14 May : Woodview Starling Plumbers 10 / 21 km
  • Sun 4 June : Comrades
  • Sun 11 June : Ladies Spar 5 / 10 km