Harriers Weekly News

  1. It is dark out there – please wear reflective shirts, belts, lights, caps etc- be visible!
  1. Werun / walk every Tues / Wed / Thur at 17h30 – without fail ! Always safety in numbers, especially during the winter months where we often have to run in the dark – we often regroup, and cater for those who want to run a bit shorter, so don’t be scared to join us.
  1. Please give us feedback about races you have done – when, where time, interesting stories etc – we gladly hear from you.
  1. We invite members to send in nominations for Member of the Month, so keep your eyes and ears open and send your nominations, before month end!
  1.  Some other dates:
  • Every Friday : 05h15, Bike & Bean (beachfront) – Red Socks 5 and 8 km run  / walk, followed by coffee, everybody welcome!
  • Wed 10 Aug: Ladies TT, braai – we spoil our ladies – all our ladies please try and come to TT!
  • Wed 7 Sept: Spring Handicap TT
    • Red shorts and white shirts
    • Everybody run 5 km
    • Scattered start, as per 2016 best 5 km times
    • Short prize-giving, then feel welcome to stay for monthly braai
  • Wed 5 Oct : Monthly braai
  • Sat 8 Oct : Beach breakfast run – details to follow…..
  • Sat 20 Oct : Club 10 km run – details to follow…..
  • Wed 2 Nov : Monthly braai
  • Sat 19 Nov : Year end function and prize-giving – details to follow….
  • Wed 6 Dec : Final braai for 2016
  1. Club runs. Shorter options always available – there may be changes closer to the time :

Note:

  1. There will always also be a 10 – 12 option as well.
  2. Those who want to run a bit longer, can arrange to meet a bit earlier and do a few km before the club run
  3. South Coast Marathon in October, training program issued– note:
  4. There will always be shorter options as well;
  5. No need to do all the long runs, but the option is there, to select the ones you want to do;
  6. Keep races in mind, and do back to back runs.

 

  • Saturday 13 August : club run – 06h00 – 20 km
  • Saturday 20 August:  club run – 06h00 – 20 km
  • Saturday 27 August: club run – 06h00 – 20 km
  • Saturday 3 Sept: club run – 05h30 – 25 km
  • Saturday 10 Sept :club run – 05h30 – 25 km
  • Saturday 17 Sept : club run – 05h30 – 25 km
  • Saturday 24 Sept : club run – 05h30 – 30 km
  • Saturday 1 Oct : club run – 05h30 – 35 km
  • Saturday 8 Oct : club run – 05h30 – 20 km – beach breakfast run – marathon runners, we will arrange for you to start a bit earlier to get the distance

 

  1. 2016 race dates  – also look at  www.eventtiming.co.za – also take note most pre-entry races have strict closing dates for entries:
  • Sun 14 Aug : Savages Supa Mama 10 & 21 km; 06h30 club tent will be up, meet there after the race.
  • Sun 21 Aug : The Sandy –  14km Beach Run (or Walk) at Spring Low tide between Umhlanga and Durban.

Enter now on www.ROAG.co.za – (Entry close 14 August).
1st 500 to Enter Rec a Deadly Peak Cap

  • Sun 21 Aug : Dbn Runner 10 & 21 km; Univ of KZN, Glenwood; pre-entry only; 06h30; next leg of our 10 x 10 km Challenge  – club tent will be up
  • Sun 28 Aug : Mandela day 10; 21; 42 km – pre-entry only
  • Sun 28 Aug : Formula 1 10 & 21 km; 06h30; – moved from Sun 4 Sept.  – view race flyer
  • Sat 3  Sept : Mpathi Mountain race, 15 km, Dundee, 14h00
  • Sun 11 Sept : SAPS Striders10 & 21 km; Kingspark; 06h30next leg of our 10 x 10 km Challenge
  • Sun 18 Sept : Spar Chesterville 10 km; 07h00
  • Sun 25 Sept : Ethekwini Township to township 21 & 42 km; 05h30
  • Sat 1 Oct: Ladysmith 21 km night race; 17h00
  • Sun 2 Oct : Duke of York 16 km; Bishopstowe; 06h30
  • Sun 2 Oct : Uthungulu 10 & 42 km; Richards bay; 06h00
  • Sun 2 Oct  :Newlands 10, 21 & 42 km ; 05h00 next leg of our 10 x 10 km Challenge
  • Sun 9 Oct : Swift 10, 21 & 42 km; Campsdrift, Pmb, 06h00
  • Sun 16 Oct : Muden 10 & 25 km, Greytown, 06h30
  • Sun 16 Oct : Goss & Baife South Coast 21 & 42 km; train leaves Amanzimtoti at 05h00, for 06h00 start

http://www.eventtiming.co.za/entryonline.php?id=174

  • Sun 23 Oct  :Mtubatuba 10 km, 07h00
  • Sun 30 Oct : KZN 10 KM Challenge; Kingspark, 07h00
  • Sun 6 Nov  :Orion 10 & 21 km, Pmb, 05h00
  • Sun 6 Nov  :Checkout Challenge 10 & 21 km, Kingspark, 06h30
  • Sun 13 Nov : Bluff Vets 15 km walk, 21 & 42 km run, 05h30 & 06h00
  • Sun 13 Nov  :Edendale 10 km, 07h00
  • Sun 20 Nov : Queensbourgh Minehaft 15 km, 06h00
  • Sat 26 Nov : Sani Stagger 21 & 42 km
  • Sat 27 Nov  :Hope Challenge 10 & 21 km, Curries Fountain, 06h00
  • Sun 4 Dev : BMG Stainbank 15 km, Yellowwood park, 06h00
  • Sun 11 Dec : Illovo Sugar 15 km Christmas Challenge, Westville, 06h00 – we wear Christmas hats and run in a group, social event
  • Thur 15 Dec  :Mandela Challenge 5 & 10 km, Blue lagoon, 18h15
  • Sun 18 Dec  : Big Hill 10 & 21 km, Ballito, 06h00