Harriers Weekly News

Last call for those who want track suites embroided, to bring to the club this week.
1. Everybody who wants to participate in the Most Mileage Challenge, send me your January km’s before 15 February – Certificates for runners doing more than 1000 km and walkers more than 500 km (end October) – trophy to the winner.
2. 2017  Registration:
a. Everybody to please register at Riverside Sports website – in case of problems, please contact us at this email address;
b. Everybody to please complete the ASA form;
c. We have many new members and have to juggle the available license numbers, unless you pay by 31 January, we cannot guarantee that you will get you 2016 number again.
d. 2017 numbers, parking discs and fixture books can still be collected this week, Tues, Wed, Thur, 16h30 – 17h20.
3. Important notice:
In races where we get issued with a race number, this number must be worn in such a way that the ASA Sponsor and the year, can be seen – the actual 2017 number itself may be covered, if not, the race referees will be out there and looking to disqualify runners / walkers!
4. Comrades / Oceans club training program for Saturdays Download (thanks Craig Speirs)
5. We now have a new email address (riversideharriers@gmail.com), please send all running related mails to this address.

6. We run / walk Tues, Wed, Thur 17h30 (run / walkers leave 17h20).

7.  Dates to remember:
  • Every Friday, 05h15, Red Sock Friday 3,5 , 8 km run / walk, Durban Country Club beach ;https://www.facebook.com/groups/iwearredsocksonfridaysDurban/
  • Tues 31 Jan : COC (Comrades Oceans Clinic, after club run, bring your questions and share your experience!
    18h30
    Wayne Holroyd (pshyiothherapist and sportsman) will chat to us about injury prevention, trainin etc….Everybody welcome.
  • Wed 1 Feb : first braai for 2017
  • Wed 15 Feb : Valentines time trial
    • Red shorts, white shirts, no watches
    • Run in teams of 2, predict your times!
    • Everybody runs 5 km, starts at 17h30
    • Stay for short prize-givingWed 22 Feb : AGM – details to follow…..
  • Wed 1 March : Monthly braai
  • Fri 10 – Sun 12 March, camp at Midmar Dam for Umgeni water 15, 32, 42 km  – names and queries to Emile. Non-campers, get in early and book chalets at 033 – 8451000.
  • Wed 5 Apr: monthly braai
  • Wed 12 Apr : Easter time trial
8.  Club runs :
a. There will always be shorter (10 – 15 km) options as well;
b. Equally, those who want to run longer, can arrange to start a bit earlier and do a few km’s before club run;
c. Use Saturday club runs in conjunction with Sunday races, to get good back to back training!
  • Sat 4 Feb : 05h30 – 15 / 20 km – top this up with Sydenham 16 / 32 km the next day
  • Sat 11 Feb : 05h30 – 15 km – top up with Hillcrest 21 km the next day
  • Sat 18 Feb : 05h30 –  25 km
  • Sat 25 Feb : 05h30 – 20 / 30 km
  • Sat 4 March : 05h30 – 25 km
  • Sat 11 March : 05h30 – 30 km
  • Sat 18 March : 05h30 – 30 km
  • Sat 25 March : 05h30 –  35 km
  • Sat 1 Apr : 05h30 – 35 km
  • Sat 8 Apr : 05h00 – 32 km – Dean Wight (Beloved Long Run, from our club)
  • Sat 15 Apr : 05h30 – 30 km
  • Sat 22 Apr : 05h30– 30 km
  • Sat 29 Apr : 05h30 – 35 km
  • Sat 6 May : 05h30 – 35 km
  • Sat 13 May : 05h30 – 35 km
  • Sat 20 May : 05h30 – 25 km
  • Sat 27 May : 06h00 – 15 km
  • Sat 3 June : 06h00 – 15 km
9. 2017 races (full details in Fixtures list and Eventtiming website)  – check which races are strict pre-entry!:
  • Sun 5 Feb : Sydenham 16 / 32 km:
    • Club tent will be up
  • Race flyer DG Panel & Pdownloadaint Challenge (1) (1),
  • Enter on race day, but better to rather enter the Saturday afternoon
  • Sun 12 Feb : NOSA Hillcrest 21, 42 km
  • Sun 19 Feb : Zabalaza 21 km
  • Sun 26 Feb : Pmb Witness 10, 21, 42 km
  • Sat 4 March : Battlefields 10, 21, 42 km – Newcastle
  • Sun 12 March : Umgeni Water 15, 32, 42 km – Midmar dam
    • Join us and camp!
  • Sun 12 March : Peace in Africa 10, 21 km – Kingspark
  • Sun 19 March : Stella 10 / 25 km;
    • 2nd leg of the 10 x 10 km Challenge
  • Sun 26 March : Verulam Gaterite 10 / 21 / 42 km
  • Sun 26 March : Tronox 10 / 21 / 42 km – Empangeni
  • Sat 1 April : Bergville 21 / 52 km
  • Sun 2 Apr : Checkout 10 / 21 , Kingspark
  • Sun 9 Apr : Durban City 10 / 21 / 42 km
    •  3rd leg of 10 x 10 km Challenge
  • Sun 16 Apr : Dick King 15 km walk / 21 km run
  • Sat 22 Apr : Mondi 10 / 21 km – Richards bay
  • Sun 23 Apr : Chatsworth 10 / 25 / 52 km
  • Sun 30 Apr : Filedshill 10 km, Lahee Park, Pinetown
  • Mon 1 May : Hibiscus 10 / 25  / 50 km
  • Sun 7 May : Deloittes 10 / 21 / 42 km:
  • Sun 14 May : Woodview Starling Plumbers 10 / 21 km
    • 4th leg of the 10 x 10 km Challenge
  • Sun 4 June : Comrades
  • Sun 11 June : Ladies Spar 5 / 10 km